a little sumpin for mama

I went to my favorite local yarn store about a week ago with an open mind.  Something for me…that was my criteria.

I came home with The Fiber Company Canopy Coqui in a wonderful warm, brown color.

I had a feeling I’d end up with another cowl…they are pretty strait forward, and I wear them daily through the Vermont fall/winter/spring.  The shake up came with the stitch.  I had never tried this particular crochet cable stitch…once I got the hang of it, it was easy…and I think the texture is lovely!

I used about 2.5 skeins for this one…the yarn is nice and soft and the perfect weight for day-long indoor/outdoor wear.

crochet cable stitch:

make a multiple of 4 ch plus 2.  Row 1: 1 sc in 2nd ch from hook, 1 sc in each of rem ch, turn.  Row 2: Ch 3, *skip next sc, 1 dc in each of next 3 sc, yo, insert hook from front to back in last skipped sc and work a dc; repeat from * to end, 1 dc in last sc, turn.  Row 3: Ch 1, skip first dc, 1 sc in each dc to end, 1 sc in 3rd or 3 ch, turn.  Repeat rows 2 and 3 to form pattern.

**when working in the round as I did, ignore turns, also ignore ch 3 in row 2, and ch 1 in row 3.

finished *just* in time- now on to the Halloween costume check list!!!

Leave a Reply

